Into perspective and detailing

Standard

The character mirror has been developing into a warm up and detailing exercise. I tend to start with a vague direction of where I want to get with the character in mind, and once the general mood is set I start adding volumes and details

  • The fashion girl: The general idea here was to make a skinny girl, very sexy but at the same time I was trying to add a lot of texture. It turned out to be a pretty girl with a not so practical clothe design. So it became fashionesque.
  • The comander: Experimenting with the layer styles of krita I started this development looking for bevels and textures. This led me to make armor plates and not so detailed parts. Krita becomes quite memory intesive when using some clone layers and filter masks on them. I liked the result. now I have to polish a lot more my detailing
  • After duty robot: After the comander experience I decided to leave the final touch to the last. For this I wanted to make a robot but not as a humanoid free walking device but as a chair like furniture that serves for something. I still don’t know exactly what purpose it serves. As an alternative I thought of a robot that server in a spaceship. After being replaced by a newer model it was dismantled and mounted on a base for display.

At first I begun working on mirroring because it was fun a resulted in many creativity decisions. Now it’s time to give purpose and learn to detail.

Perspective

Feng Zhu tutorials recommend using insects as a good practice  into perspective. I have to say that I had previous to this some practice and knowledge on perspective. While in secondary school I took 3 years of technical drawing, and every friday was perspective time. But the practice was never so deep and because I was young and still didn’t realize that I wanted to use my drawing skills as a profession I did not retain most of it.

After the short story: How the exercise works. This is how I’m implementing it. First make a quick copy of the reference photo to begin to understand the shape. Once I’ve got a certain degree of understanding I used basic shapes to make the top and side view. Using guides to get approximate proportions I laid out a perspective grid and projected the views onto the perspective. I should take no longer than 12 minutes.

This is only the first step, I’m currently starting to do buildings and machinery, still a lot to do and to learn.

Leave a Reply

